These Celebs Got Us ROFL-ing With Their Versions Of The Viral Elf On The Shelf Meme Advertisement


These Celebs Got Us ROFL-ing With Their Versions Of The Viral Elf On The Shelf Meme

From Hanks on Banks to Perry on Kerry, we're in awe of their epic rhyming skills

By Isha Mayer  December 8th, 2020

If there’s anything that we’ve seen a lot of on social media this year, it’s the number of viral challenges and memes born out of boredom in quarantine each month. And now, with 2020 coming to an end, we’ve got ourselves another viral challenge being taken up by your favourite stars. Borrowing inspiration from the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ meme, Hollywood actors are posting photos of themselves with other celebrities whose names rhyme with theirs, just to get into the Christmas spirit.

It all started with the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills actor, Garcelle Beauvais who posted a picture of her photoshopped image sitting on the shoulder of Pharell Williams on her Instagram account and it said, “You’ve heard of Elf on a Shelf, now get ready for this…”, which translated to Garcelle on Pharell.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Garcelle Beauvais (@garcelle)

 

The image is said to be inspired by the popular Christmas ‘Elf on the Shelf’ tradition that began in 2005 after a children’s picture book of the same title was released, which involved an elf sitting on various surfaces (mostly shelves) around the house till the day of Christmas.

After Garcelle, Elizabeth Banks posted her own version with Tom Hanks and gave us Hanks on Banks! And that’s when others joined the bandwagon.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks)

From Grease on Reese to Perry on Kerry, scroll through for a look at all the celebrities who’ve entertained us with their epic rhyming and Photoshop skills below.

Reese Witherspoon with Tom Hanks:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon)

Mark Ruffalo with Tony Stark:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mark Ruffalo (@markruffalo)

Jennifer Garner with Sean Penn:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner)

Anne Hathway with Allison Janney:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Anne Hathaway (@annehathaway)

Mariah Carey with The Grinch:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mariah Carey (@mariahcarey)

Kerry Washington with Katy Perry:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kerry Washington (@kerrywashington)

Gal Gadot with Pedro Pascal:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Gal Gadot (@gal_gadot)

Idina Menzel with Denzel Washington:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Idina Menzel (@idinamenzel)

Kyle MacLachlan with Harry Styles:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kyle MacLachlan (@kyle_maclachlan)

Which ‘Elf on the Shelf’ meme did you like the most?