Woolmark announces European winners Advertisement

Woolmark announces European winners

By Sneha Sadarangani  July 9th, 2014

Woolmark is flying around the globe to recognise contributions made by rising design talent. After handing out the Middle East and India edition of the Woolmark Prize in Mumbai last week, it was time to head to Paris.

The Shangri-La hotel played host to the European leg of this prestigious honour, where Germany’s Augustin Teboul won in the womenswear section and Denmark’s Asger Juel Larsen took top honours in the menswear category. Both of them will receive AU$50,000 each and the chance to win the coveted International Woolmark Prize.

Last year, India’s Rahul Mishra won the prize and previous winners have included Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent.

Teboul and Larsen will compete against similar winners from the US, Asia, Australia, Europe, and India and the Middle East, to win an additional AU$1,00,000 and the chance to have their pieces stocked with leading retailers around the world.

The jury for the European award included several prominent members from the fashion fraternity, including Nina Ricci’s creative director Peter Copping and Hermès men’s designer Véronique Nichanian.

Photograph: Instagram.com/thewoolmarkcompany

You may want to read: Woolmark’s India and Middle East leg